-Press Room
Press Room 2020-05-25T15:09:32+00:00
Image (©) Public domain

Basic Facts

High magnetic fields are one of the most powerful tools available to scientists for the study, the modification and the control of the state of matter.

The European Magnetic Field Laboratory (EMFL) was founded in 2015 and awarded the Landmark status in March 2016 during the ESFRI Roadmap presentation in Amsterdam. EMFL provides the highest possible fields (both continuous and pulsed) for its researchers. The EMFL is dedicated to unite, coordinate and reinforce the four existing European high magnetic field laboratories – the Dresden High Magnetic Field Laboratory (Germany), the Laboratoires National des Champs Magnétiques Intenses in Grenoble and Toulouse (France), and the High Magnetic Field Laboratory in Nijmegen (The Netherlands) – within a single body, as one of the world’s leading infrastructures of its kind.

Our Awarded Scientists

Since 2009, the EMFL Prize (2009 – 2012: EuroMagNET Prize) has been awarded annually for outstanding achievements in science in high magnetic fields.

2019: Dr. Ashish Arora, Postdoctorate researcher at the University of Münster, Germany
2018: Dr. Artem Mishchenko, EPSRC Research Fellow in the Condensed Matter Physics Group of the University of Manchester (UK)
2017: Sven Badoux from the Physics department at the Université de Sherbrooke (CA)
2016: Alix McCollam from the High Field Magnet Laboratory (HFML) at the Radboud University (RU) in Nijmegen (NL)
2015: Carsten Putzke from the school of Physics at the University of Bristol (GB)
2014: Milan Orlita from the Laboratoire National des Champs Megnétiques Intenses (LNCMI) at the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS) Grenoble
2013: Benoît Fauqué from the Laboratoire de Physique et d’Étude des Matériaux (LPEM) at the Ecole Supérieur de Physique et de Chimie Industrielles (ESPCI)

High Resolution Logos

Documents To Download

Press Kit


If you have an enquiry or you would like to interview our scientists, please contact us.

Public Relation Officer:

Phone: +33 58759 257